header image
The world according to David Graham


acva bili chpc columns committee conferences elections environment essays ethi faae foreign foss guelph hansard highways history indu internet leadership legal military money musings newsletter oggo pacp parlchmbr parlcmte politics presentations proc qp radio reform regs rnnr satire secu smem statements tran transit tributes tv unity

Recent entries

  1. Why do lockdowns and pandemic restrictions continue to exist?
  2. Parliamentary privilege: an arcane concept that can prevent coups
  3. It's not over yet
  4. Trump will win in 2020 (and keep an eye on 2024)
  5. A podcast with Michael Geist on technology and politics
  6. Next steps
  7. On what electoral reform reforms
  8. 2019 Fall campaign newsletter / infolettre campagne d'automne 2019
  9. 2019 Summer newsletter / infolettre été 2019
  10. 2019-07-15 SECU 171
  11. 2019-06-20 RNNR 140
  12. 2019-06-17 14:14 House intervention / intervention en chambre
  13. 2019-06-17 SECU 169
  14. 2019-06-13 PROC 162
  15. 2019-06-10 SECU 167
  16. 2019-06-06 PROC 160
  17. 2019-06-06 INDU 167
  18. 2019-06-05 23:27 House intervention / intervention en chambre
  19. 2019-06-05 15:11 House intervention / intervention en chambre
  20. 2019-06-04 INDU 166
  21. 2019-06-03 SECU 166
  22. 2019 June newsletter / infolettre juin 2019
  23. 2019-05-30 RNNR 137
  24. 2019-05-30 PROC 158
  25. 2019-05-30 INDU 165
  26. 2019-05-29 SECU 165
  27. 2019-05-29 ETHI 155
  28. 2019-05-28 ETHI 154
  29. 2019-05-28 ETHI 153
  30. 2019-05-27 ETHI 151
  31. older entries...

2016-02-03 14:21 House intervention / intervention en chambre

Anniversary, Associate members of committees, Fires, Mace of the House of Commons, Parliament Buildings, Statements by Members,

Anniversaire, Déclarations de députés, Édifices du Parlement, Incendies, Masse de la Chambre des communes, Membres associés des comités,

Mr. Speaker, exactly 100 years ago today, on February 3, 1916, a fire broke out in the reading room here in the Centre Block of the Parliament buildings. The fire destroyed the entire building, with the exception of the library, and claimed seven lives, including those of the member for Yarmouth, Bowman Brown Law and the assistant clerk of the House of Commons, Jean-Baptiste René Laplante, a member of the Quebec bar who served in the House from 1897 until the day of the fatal accident. Florence Bray, Mabel Morin, Randolph Fanning, Constable Alphonse Desjardins, and his uncle, who shared the same name, also died in the blaze.

Today, some of the descendants of Mr. Laplante, Messrs. Desjardins, and some of the other victims are here in Ottawa to mark the 100th anniversary of this tragedy.

Today, in commemoration of the disaster, we are using the wooden mace that served as a temporary replacement for the original mace, which was destroyed in the fire.

Monsieur le Président, il y a exactement 100 ans, le 3 février 1916, un incendie a éclaté dans la salle de lecture ici, à l'édifice du Centre du parlement, détruisant l'édifice à l'exception de la bibliothèque et causant sept décès, dont celui du député de Yarmouth, M. Bowman Brown Law, et du greffier adjoint de la Chambre, Me Jean-Baptiste René Laplante qui, membre du Barreau du Québec, a servi à la Chambre de 1897 jusqu'au jour du fatidique accident. Sont aussi décédés Mme Florence Bray, Mme Mabel Morin, le constable Alphonse Desjardins, son oncle du même nom et M. Randolph Fanning.

Aujourd'hui, plusieurs descendants de la famille de Me Laplante, de MM. Desjardins ainsi que des membres de la famille d'autres victimes sont venus à Ottawa pour souligner le centenaire de la tragédie.

C'est en mémoire de ce sinistre que nous utilisons la masse en bois provisoire fabriquée en remplacement de la masse originale détruite dans l'incendie.

Watch | HansardEcoutez | Hansard

Posted at 13:26 on February 03, 2016

This entry has been archived. Comments can no longer be posted.

2016-02-02 PROC 5 | hansard parlchmbr statements tv | 2016-02-04 PROC 6

(RSS) Website generating code and content © 2001-2020 David Graham <david@davidgraham.ca>, unless otherwise noted. All rights reserved. Comments are © their respective authors.