David de Burgh Graham - d'ici pour ici
Candidat à  l'investiture libérale de Laurentides--Labelle // Candidate for the Liberal nomination in Laurentides--Labelle
David de Burgh Graham

Promote your Page too


columns elections environment essays foreign guelph highways internet leadership legal linux military money musings ottawa politics presentations quebec radio reform satire transit tv unity

Recent entries

  1. Ensemble, nous pouvons mieux faireTogether we can do better
  2. Travaillons ensembleLet's work together
  3. Je vous présentePresenting
  4. Scott Simms, député, visite Laurentides--LabelleScott Simms, MP, visits Laurentides--Labelle
  5. David Graham annonce sa candidature à l'investiture libérale de Laurentides--Labelle David Graham announces his candidacy for the Liberal nomination in Laurentides--Labelle
  6. Non-motorised boat rally in Lac-des-Sables
  7. Letter: Quebec has always been, and will always be, home
  8. older entries...

Abolish the Ontario Municipal Board

Can someone please explain to me why the Ontario Municipal Board exists? Why do we elect local politicians at all if their only purpose is to express an opinion to a mysterious judicial body?

The developers of the former Lafarge property in Guelph recently told city council that they had no plans to withdraw a pre-emptive OMB case against the city because they would be appealing the city's as-yet unmade decision regardless. Not exactly the spirit of cooperation those same developers told city council not five minutes earlier they were pursuing. But it begs the question, why does such a body exist?

Why is there a body that can overrule cities' elected politicians, their decisions, and their long term plans?

As former BC premier Mike Harcourt so eloquently put it to a conference in Guelph a year ago, "First off, abolish the OMB". I couldn't agree more, it's time for this useless body to be purged from this province.

Posted at 14:28 on March 12, 2008

(RSS) Website generating code and content © 2006-2014 David Graham <>, unless otherwise noted. All rights reserved. Comments are © their respective authors.